Posted by: Zach Younkin | February 9, 2008

“ONE SMALL IDEA CAN MAKE A BIG DIFFERENCE!”

Here are some pictures of Hunter, the inspiration behind all of this.

To parents, never doubt your child (young or old) when s/he says that they want to do something big. Hunter is just 10 years old!!

To kids, never be afraid to say that you want to do something. You are never too young to have an impact.

“I’m just your average kid who loves animals, playing video games, going hunting and longs to be like Jesus”

Here is a bio of Hunter and the inspiration behind the job he has done.

My name is Hunter Frey and I am 10 years old. About 3 years ago my family and I received an email from our good friend who works with ICDI (Integrated Community Development International). He had just been to Africa and was moved by the thousands of orphans in the C.A.R. (Central African Republic). During his visit some of the sponsored orphans received gifts, but thousands got nothing at all. I felt very sad because I know if I didn’t have anything and seen some of my friends get gifts, and there was nothing for me, well that was just sad. So I wanted to think of something that I could do to make a difference in the lives of those orphans and give them something to make them smile. The best option was beanie babies because everyone likes them and there are lots of them around. They are small and ship well and people have so many of them that they should be able to give up at least one. So I started asking for donations, and many people have helped me to make a difference in the life of an African orphan.

About a year ago I heard that the boys take leaves and twigs and make cars out of them to play with. So many of us boys here in the US have lots of hot wheels and matchbox cars that we can easily part with one. So I started asking for donations of hot wheels or matchbox size cars to send over and now the African boys have real cars to play with.

Another thought was that all kids like candy and one of my favorites is sweet tarts or smarties. They come individually wrapped, are inexpensive and they wont melt in Africa, so I started asking for donations and now they can enjoy the taste of candy.

The simple and small things we take for granted in the United States can make a big difference in the most remote of places on this Earth. We have so much and they have so little. God is leading me to Africa this summer and I will get to personally deliver gifts to try and make sure no one feels left out. Can you help me make a difference?

But the LORD said to me, “Do not say, “I am only a child.”
You must go to everyone I send you to and say whatever I command you.
(Jeremiah 1:7)

Leave a Reply

Categories

